Henning Larsen awarded the Praemium Imperiale for Architecture

The Japan Art Association has named Danish architect Henning Larsen the 2012 Praemium Imperiale laureate for architecture.

Created in 1988 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Japan Art Association and to honor the late Prince Takamatsu, the prestigious Praemium Imperiale awards recognize outstanding, lifetime achievements in the arts categories not covered by the Nobel Prizes: architecture, painting, sculpture, music and theatre/film.

The 2012 Praemium Imperiale laureates:

Painting: Cai Guo-Qiang (China)             

Sculpture: Cecco Bonanotte (Italy)               

Architecture: Henning Larsen (Denmark)        

Music: Philip Glass (USA)               

Theatre/Film: Yoko Morishita (Japan)       

In regards to Henning Larsen’s notable strengths, the Prize Committee’s citation stated: “Light seems to fall from the ceiling and windows, reflecting off the floors and walls, filling the space sublimely; these minutely calculated lighting effects are one of the greatest characteristics of Henning Larsen’s architecture.”

Each laureate receives an honorarium of 15 million yen, and a diploma and medal will be presented by honorary patron of the Japan Art Association Prince Hitachi in an awards ceremony held in Tokyo on October 23, 2012.

In addition, the 2012 Grant for Young Artists was awarded to The Sphinx Organization (Detroit, USA).

The 2011 Praemium Imperiale laureate was Mexican architect Ricardo Legorreta of LEGORRETA + LEGORRETA.

Check out Henning Larsen Architects projects here on ArchDaily! 

Henning Larsen awarded the Praemium Imperiale for Architecture originally appeared on ArchDaily, the most visited architecture website on 16 Sep 2012.

send to Twitter | Share on Facebook | What do you think about this?



Esta entrada fue publicada en Architecture News, Noticias y etiquetada , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.